Ideally the food and drink we consume would all be fresh and organic but it’s hard to completely avoid food additives – these chemicals are added to food and drinks to enhance their flavour, appearance and to preserve them. Commonly known as ‘E Numbers’ it may come as a surprise to learn that not all are suitable for vegans. That’s why we are grateful to The Elated Vegan for their comprehensive list of vegan friendly – and un-friendly – E numbers.

print

Not Vegan

These E Numbers are definitely of animal origin and are not suitable for vegans

  • E120 – Carmine Dye from Cochineal Beetles, Natural Red 4
  • E441 – Gelatine
  • E542 – Edible Bone Phosphate
  • E901 – Beeswax, white and yellow
  • E904 – Shellac – Resin from Lac Bug
  • E910 – L-cysteine
  • E913 – Lanolin, sheep wool grease
  • E920 – L-cysteine
  • E921 – L-cysteine
  • E966 – Lactitol

Vegan E Numbers

These E Numbers are derived from mineral or vegetable sources and are vegan friendly.

Food Colourings

E100, E101, E101a, E102, E103, E104, E105, E106, E107, E110, E111, E121, E122, E123, E124, E125, E126, E127, E128, E129, E130, E131, E132, E133, E140, E141, E142, E143, E150a, E150b, E150c, E150d, E151, E152, E154, E155, E160a, E160b, E160c, E160d, E160e, E160f, E161a, E161b, E161c, E161d, E161e, E161f, E162, E163, E170, E171, E172, E173, E174, E175, E180, E181

Preservatives

E200, E201, E202, E203, E210, E211, E212, E213, E214, E215, E216, E217, E218, E219, E220, E221, E222, E223, E224, E225, E226, E227, E228, E230, E231, E232, E233, E234, E235, E236, E237, E238, E239, E240, E242, E249, E250, E251, E260, E261, E262, E263, E264, E280, E281, E282, E283, E284, E285, E290, E296, E297

Antioxidants

E300, E301, E302, E303, E304, E306, E307, E308, E309, E310, E311, E312, E315, E316, E317, E318, E319, E320, E321, E329, E330, E331, E332, E333, E334, E335, E336, E337, E338, E339, E340, E341, E343, E350, E351, E352, E353, E354, E355, E356, E357, E363, E365, E366, E367, E370, E375, E380, E381, E385, E400, E401, E402, E403, E404, E405, E406, E407, E407a, E410, E412, E413, E414, E415, E416, E417, E418, E420, E421, E425, E440, E444, E445, E450, E451, E452, E459, E460, E461, E462, E463, E464, E465, E466, E468, E469

Anti-Caking Agents

E500, E501, E503, E504, E507, E508, E509, E510, E511, E512, E513, E517, E518, E519, E520, E521, E522, E523, E524, E525, E526, E527, E528, E529, E530, E535, E536, E538, E540, E541, E543, E544, E545, E550, E551, E552, E553b, E554, E555, E556, E558, E559, E574, E575, E576, E577, E578, E579

Flavour Enhancers

E620, E621, E622, E623, E624, E625, E626, E628, E629, E630, E632, E633, E634, E636, E637

Miscellaneous

E900, E902, E903, E905, E905a, E905b, E905c, E906, E907, E908, E912, E914, E915, E922, E923, E924, E925, E926, E927, E297b, E928, E930, E938, E939, E940, E941, E942, E943a, E943b, E944, E948, E949, E950, E951, E952, E953, E954, E955, E957, E959, E965, E967, E999

Additional Chemicals

E1103, E1105, E1106, E1107, E1108, E1109, E1110, E1111, E1112, E1113, E1114, E1115, E1116, E1117, E1118, E1119, E1120, E1121, E1122, E1123, E1124, E1125, E1126, E1127, E1128, E1129, E1130, E1131, E1132, E1133, E1134, E1135, E1136, E1137, E1138, E1139, E1140, E1141, E1142, E1143, E1144, E1145, E1146, E1147, E1148, E1149, E1150, E1151, E1152, E1153, E1154, E1155, E1156, E1157, E1158, E1159, E1160, E1161, E1162, E1163, E1164, E1165, E1166, E1167, E1168, E1169, E1170, E1171, E1172, E1173, E1174, E1175, E1176, E1177, E1178, E1179, E1180, E1181, E1182, E1183, E1184, E1185, E1186, E1187, E1188, E1189, E1190, E1191, E1192, E1193, E1194, E1195, E1196, E1197, E1198, E1199, E1200, E1201, E1202, E1400, E1401, E1402, E1403, E1404, E1410, E1412, E1413, E1414, E1420, E1421, E1422, E1430, E1440, E1441, E1442, E1450, E1451, E1505, E1510, E1518, E1520

There are also others that could come from a vegan or animal origin depending on the manufacturer, such as E471 which The Vegan Society flags as a “thing to look out for” that “can be animal OR non-animal based”.

Please read more at elated.co.za